We are a thriving cricket club in the heart of the Ribble Valley.

You will see from our home page that we have many honours to our name over the years, but we believe that our main asset is being part of our local community. We have over 200 members, the vast majority of which live in the Longridge area. Our local primary and secondary schools use our facilities every year to hold their games without charge.

All are made welcome.



A previous Longridge Cricket Club joined the Palace Shield in 1906, when the League went under the name of the “Alhambra Competition”, consisting often teams. The club’s first game in the competition was against Great Eccleston on the 28th April 1906. Longridge lost the match being bowled out for a paltry 32. The next two fixtures, against Blackpool and Fleetwood, were rained off would you believe.

The club did however secure its first victory in the league at home to St. Anne’s on 26th May, St. Anne’s being bowled out for 37. A report of a match v Kirkam on 4th August 1906, rescued from the archives by club stalwart and memorabilia man W.J. Gornall, reads as follows:
“The Longridge team set an example on Saturday that other clubs might well do to follow for, although they hail from the most distant points in the area from which the clubs are drawn, they will all be on the field ready to play by ten minutes to three, the result being that before 5 o clock, the game had ended.”
There was no mention in the report of Longridge being bowled out for 26!

Although the club was founded in 1929, a medal has recently come into our possession. It was presented to a Mr W Taylor for winning the batting averages in season 1896!

Longridge left the competition in 1908 and went on to play in the Preston and District League” until re-joining the Palace Shield in 1969. In 1979 the club became “Longridge Cricket & Hockey Club”, a partnership that was to last until 1995 when the hockey section broke away due to the introduction of artificial pitches.

The club introduced a 3rd team to play Saturday cricket in 1992 under the auspices of Mr Peter Tuson. The club is eternally grateful to Peter for getting this going and seeing it through. Starting in the “Preston & District League”, the team joined the Shield competition in 1995 with the formation of E Division and became the inaugural winners. The team also became first ever winners of the Crabtree Cup in 1997.

Due to the generosity of our landlord Mr George Newsham, the club now owns the ground and our future would appear secure. We are now also own a second ground across the road where our 3rd and 4th teams play.

The club has continued to prosper in recent years and supports the Palace Shield competition wholeheartedly, fielding teams in the Premier, 1st, 2nd, 4th & 6th divisions as well as junior teams in the under 17, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11 & 10 age groups.

We also have junior teams in the Lancashire League at U17, 15, 13, 11, 10 & 9.

We are now established as one of the strongest clubs in the Palace Shield Competition. Achievements have been notable, winning the championship of all divisions on several occasions, the highlight being the hat-trick of successes in winning the Palace Shield 1996-1998 with further successes in 2000 & 2004. The Meyler Cup has been won three times, the Loxham Cup eight times  and Crabtree Cup three times.

The 2nd XI have the distinction of being the first 2nd XI ever to win Division 1 in 2014, they also won the division on it’s last occassion before the reformed structure came into place in 2017 for the 2018 season. They also completed a hat-trick of wins in the Loxham Cup in 2017 which had never been achieved before.

The juniors are mentioned in depth under their own section but it has to be said that in 2016 our Under 12, 13, 14 & 15 all won their age groups which has never been achieved before.

There are many, many individuals who have contributed to the development and success of our club going back over 100 years now, but none more so than Mr Tom Haworth and the late Mr Tom Croft without whom the club would not have survived and flourished into the club it is today.


Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Palace Shield Premier Division (A) Winner  1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2004
Palace Cup Premier Division (A) Runner Up 1994, 1995, 2001, 2009, 2014
Fylde Cup Division One (B) Winner 1968, 2009, 2014, 2017
Deveney Cup Division One (B) Runner Up 1971, 2013, 2015, 2016
Barcroft Cup Division Two (C) Winner 1975, 1996, 1998
William Sharples Cup Division Two (C) Runner Up 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2001
Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner 1968, 1973, 1980, 1992, 2013, 2016
Charles W Walsh Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 1995, 1998, 2012
Tom Croft Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 1996, 1997, 1999
Micheal Dunn Trophy Division Five Winner 2014
Carr Trophy Division Six Winner 2010
Moore & Smalley Trophy Sunday Division (F) Winnersun 1998
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun 1997, 1999
Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO 1990, 1994, 2009
Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO 1988, 1993, 2002
Loxham Cup Winner of Loxham Cup KO 1984, 1987, 2001, 2009, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2017
British Aerospace Cup Runner Up in Loxham KO 1986, 1990, 1999, 2000, 2003
Crabtree Cup Winner of Crabtree Cup 1997, 1998, 1999
John Richardson Cup Runner Up in Crabtree Cup KO 2014
Supersports T20 RU Runners up in Twenty20 Cup 2016
T20 Div 2 Runners Up Runners up in T20 Division 2 Cup 2015
Brian Gill Trophy Under 10s Winner 2008, 2013
John Sharp Trophy Under 10s Runners Up 2007
Tony Poxon Trophy Under 11s Winner 2015
Graham Lawton Trophy Under 12s Winner 2015, 2016
Dutton Forshaw Trophy Under 13s Winner 1996, 2004, 2016, 2017
Fred H. Alty Trophy Under 13s Runner Up 1997, 1999, 2006, 2007
Tom Howarth Trophy Under 13s Plate Winner 2015
Under 14s Winner 2016, 2017
Tom Jenkins Trophy Under 15s Winner 1992, 2003, 2016
Jim Gledhill Trophy Under 15s Runner Up 1986, 2008
Frank Henry Trophy Under 15 Plate Winner 2009
Rose Trophy Under 17s Winner 1976, 1979
Courtaulds Trophy Under 17 Runners Up 1981, 2004, 2008, 2012

Key to notes
sun – The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 – Divison F, 2006-2007 – Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw – Joint Winner

Our results site is – http://longridge.play-cricket.com/